鶹ý

Unsupported Browser
The 鶹ý website is not compatible with Internet Explorer 11, IE 11. For the best experience please update your browser.
Menu
Become a member and receive career-enhancing benefits

Our top priority is providing value to members. Your Member Services team is here to ensure you maximize your 鶹ýmember benefits, participate in College activities, and engage with your 鶹ýcolleagues. It's all here.

Become a Member
Become a member and receive career-enhancing benefits

Our top priority is providing value to members. Your Member Services team is here to ensure you maximize your 鶹ýmember benefits, participate in College activities, and engage with your 鶹ýcolleagues. It's all here.

Membership Benefits
ACS
Advocacy

Contact Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

20 F Street, NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20001
202-337-2701
Fax: 202-337-4271
ahp@facs.org

Division Director

Christian Shalgian
202-337-2701
Fax: 202-337-4271
cshalgian@facs.org

Medical Director, Quality and Health Policy

Frank Opelka, MD, FACS
fopelka@facs.org

Medical Director, Advocacy

Patrick Bailey, MD, FACS
pvbailey@facs.org

General Staff

Staff

Responsibilities

D’Arcey Johnson
Office Manager
djohnson@facs.org
202-337-2701

Serves as the Washington Office Manager, prepares budgets, assists the DAHP Director, serves as ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC Administrator, and liaises with accounting services, building facilities, IT, and vendors.

Becky Putens
Senior Assistant to the Medical Directors
bputens@facs.org
202-672-1531

Performs administrative support to the Medical Directors in Washington, DC, office.

Regulatory Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Vinita O. Mujumdar, JD
Chief of Regulatory Affairs
vmujumdar@facs.org
202-672-1510

Manages privacy federal regulatory matters, including Medicare, HIPAA, EMTALA, graduate medical education, OIG issues, physician self-referral issues.

Jill Sage, MPH
Chief of Quality Affairs
jsage@facs.org
202-672-1507

Represents national groups: JACHO, National Quality Forum, Leapfrog, AHA, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), surgical groups, and industry (innovations) and manages the Surgical Quality Alliance (SQA).

Vacant
Senior HIT and Quality Specialist

Monitors and responds to health information technology policy and regulations; works to propose innovative technology solutions that meet federal standards; and assists in monitoring federal and private sector quality initiatives affecting the practice of surgery.

Lauren Foe, MPH
Senior Regulatory Associate
lfoe@facs.org
202-672-1524

Interprets and develops strategic responses to regulations affecting surgeons and their patients, including policies related to federal and commercial insurance programs, coverage and reimbursement for surgical care, and utilization management, among others; assists in the publication of 鶹ýresources addressing various issues critical to the management of a successful surgical practice; staffs the American Medical Association RVS Update Committee (AMA RUC).

Haley Jeffcoat, MPH
Quality Affairs Associate
hjeffcoat@facs.org
202-672-1517

Monitors and responds to topics related to quality, value-based care, and HIT from the regulatory perspective, as well helping to manage 鶹ýdigital services and registry-related projects.

Vacant
Practice Affairs
regulatory@facs.org

Liaises with CPT editorial panel, American Medical Association RVS Update Committee (AMA RUC), evaluation and management documentation guidelines, Assistants at Surgery (payment policies), HIPAA-transaction information, socioeconomic tips, CPT coding/practice management workshops and consultants, CPT hotline.

Kate Murphy
Regulatory and Quality Affairs Assistant
kmurphy@facs.org
202-672-1506

Provides administrative support to the Regulatory and Quality Affairs team.

Legislative and Political Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Kristin McDonald
Chief of Legislative and Political Affairs
kmcdonald@facs.org
202-672-1512

Develops and implements the College’s federal health policy agenda, grassroots (SurgeonsVoice), and political (SurgeonsPAC) affairs. Serves as the organization’s chief lobbyist on several issues including Medicare physician payment, medical liability reform, graduate medical education (GME) and workforce, quality improvement, and scope of practice. Also responsible for AMA House of Delegates, Surgical Caucus, and AMA young physicians.

Matthew Coffron
Chief of Health Policy Development
mcoffron@facs.org
202-672-1516

Leverages College resources, data, and expertise in partnership with other 鶹ýdepartments and divisions to develop proactive health policy proposals and facilitate development of official policy statements. Manages and participates in collaborations with external organizations with similar priorities.

Courtney Eubanks
Manager, Political and Grassroots Engagement (ACSPA)
ceubanks@facs.org
202-672-1511

Coordinates all Grassroots and PAC programming and activities, and serves as a liaison to the Health Policy Advisory Council, SurgeonsPAC Board of Directors, and the federal legislative team.

All PAC-related questions can be sent to surgeonspac@facs.org.Grassroots inquiries can be sent to ahp@facs.org.

Amelia Suermann
Senior Advisor, Congressional and Political Engagement
asuermann@facs.org
202-672-1509

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Carrie Zlatos
Senior Health Policy Advisor
czlatos@facs.org
202-672-1508

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Emma Zimmerman
Congressional Lobbyist
ezimmerman@facs.org
202-672-1528

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

John Jarrell
Grassroots and PAC Coordinator
jjarrell@facs.org
202-672-1523

Coordinates all ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC fundraising and grassroots efforts.


All PAC-related questions can be sent to surgeonspac@facs.org. Grassroots inquiries can be sent to ahp@facs.org.

Cory Bloom
Political & Legislative Affairs Assistant
cbloom@facs.org
202-672-1505

State health policy/legislative tracking, state-level advocacy strategy development and training/workshops, state action center, state-level trauma and cancer advocacy, chapter advocacy development, NCSL, chapter lobby days.

State Affairs

State

Responsibilities

Catherine Hendricks
Manager, State Affairs
chendricks@facs.org
202-672-1502

State-level advocacy strategy development and training/workshops, state action center, state-level trauma and cancer advocacy, chapter advocacy development, state legislation and policy, state action center, and chapter lobby days. Also responsible for AMA House of Delegates, Surgical Caucus, and AMA young physicians.

State Affairs Team
stateaffairs@facs.org

Provides administrative support to the Legislative and Political Affairs team.